Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Summit League Nominates Lakota Beatty as NCAA Woman of the Year

Summit League Nominates Lakota Beatty as NCAA Woman of the Year

Full NCAA Release

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – Oral Roberts women's basketball recent graduate Lakota Beatty was nominated by the Summit League as 2019 NCAA Woman of the Year.

Beatty, an All-Summit League Women's Basketball First Team selection in her senior campaign, led the Golden Eagles averaging 15.1 points per game. The Anadarko, Oklahoma, native was one of the league leaders in overall field-goal percentage and three-point shooting, while she recorded a career high 35 points at North Dakota February 16.

A total of 148 student-athletes chosen by NCAA conferences and a selection committee will advance as nominees for the 2019 NCAA Woman of the Year Award. The women were selected from a pool of 585 school nominees.

The nominees represent college athletes from 20 sorts spanning all three NCAA divisions.

Of the nominees, 64 competed in Division I, 33 competed in Division II and 51 competed in Division III.

The Top 30 honorees, comprising 10 women from each division, will be named by the Woman of the Year selection committee in September. The selection committee will then narrow the pool to nine finalists — with three from each division — in early October. From those finalists, the NCAA Committee on Women's Athletics will select the 2019 Woman of the Year.

The 2019 Woman of the Year will be named, and the Top 30 honorees will be celebrated, at the annual banquet Oct. 20 in Indianapolis.

The NCAA Woman of the Year program has recognized graduating female student-athletes for excellence in academics, athletics, community service and leadership since its inception in 1991.

For the latest information on ORU Volleyball, follow the Golden Eagles on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, or go to  Fans can also receive updates on the team by downloading two mobile apps, ORU Golden Eagles Live and ORU Front Row, available on the App Store and Google Play.