Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

ORU Women’s Basketball Picked Fourth in Summit League Preseason Poll

ORU Women’s Basketball Picked Fourth in Summit League Preseason Poll

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. – Oral Roberts grabbed the fourth pick in the 2019 Summit League Women's Basketball Championship, while South Dakota State was predicted first in voting by head coaches, sports information directors and a select panel of media members. 

The Jackrabbits are the overall preseason favorite for the seventh consecutive season and for the ninth time in the last 12 years. SDSU received 24 first-place votes, while South Dakota was second in the poll with nine first-place votes.

South Dakota State senior guard Macy Miller was voted The Summit League Women's Basketball Preseason Player of the Year after receiving 26 of 33 first-place votes and a total of 680 points. Miller is the reigning Summit League Women's Basketball Player of the Year, and this marks the second consecutive season that the player of the year returns.

Joining Miller on the preseason All-Summit League First Team is her teammate Madison Guebert along with South Dakota's Ciara Duffy and Allison Arens, Western Illinois' Taylor Higgenbotham and North Dakota's Lexi Klabo. The second team is comprised of SDSU's Myah Selland and Tagyn Larson, USD's Madison McKeever, Oral Roberts' Maya Mayberry and Denver's Claire Gritt.

Points for the preseason poll were compiled on a 9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis while all-league teams were compiled on an 11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis. Each coach, SID and media member also voted for two, five-player All-Summit League Teams with the preseason player of the year being determined by receiving the most points. Ties were not broken and coaches were not permitted to vote for their own student-athletes or team.

The 2018-19 campaign gets underway on Nov. 6 with Oral Roberts taking on Harris-Stowe and South Dakota State battling Marquette. Conference play will begin on Dec. 28 with a handful of league members in action. There will be an in-person Basketball Media in The Summit League's new hometown of Sioux Falls, S.D.

The 2019 Summit League Tournament will be March 9-12 at the Denny Sanford PREMIER Center in Sioux Falls, S.D.

2018-19 Preseason Summit League Player of the Year

Macy Miller – South Dakota State


Preseason All-Summit League First Team

Macy Miller – South Dakota State, Sr., G (18.3 ppg/5.8 rpg/3.15 apg)*

Madison Guebert – South Dakota State, Sr., G (15.0 ppg/2.2 rpg/2.03 apg)

Ciara Duffy – South Dakota, Jr., G (12.3 ppg/5.0 rpg/2.48 apg)

Allison Arens – South Dakota, Sr., G (11.5 ppg/4.8 rpg/2.5 apg)

Taylor Higginbotham – Western Illinois, Sr., G (16.6 ppg/5.2 rpg/1.18 apg)

Lexi Klabo – North Dakota, Sr., F (19.0 ppg/9.3 rpg/1.33 apg)


Preseason All-Summit League Second Team

Myah Selland – South Dakota State, So., G/F (9.6 ppg/5.4 rpg/2.2apg)

Maya Mayberry – Oral Roberts, G (11.6 ppg/2.3 rpg/2.06 apg)

Claire Gritt – Denver, So., G (10.3 ppg/3.0 rpg/ 1.46 apg)

Madison Mckeever – South Dakota, Jr., G (8.6 ppg/2.7 rpg/2.47 apg)

Tagyn Laron – South Dakota State, Jr., F (7.4 ppg/5.7rpg/1.3apg)

*Preseason player of the year automatically earns a spot on the first team


Preseason Poll


Team (First-Place Votes)



South Dakota State (24)



South Dakota (9)



Western Illinois



Oral Roberts






North Dakota



North Dakota State






Purdue Fort Wayne



Preseason Summit League Notes

• The preseason player of the year has gone on to win the player of the year award 10 times in league history, including five of the last eight years

• Since 1996-97, the preseason favorite has won either the regular season or tournament title in 16 of those years but has won both only three times

• There are 18 player of the week awards between every member of the first and second team preseason all-league teams. Miller leads the group with nine career weekly honors

• Five of the six members of the Preseason All-Summit League first team were members of either the first or second All-Summit League team last season, Klabo was a First Team All-Big Sky honoree

•  Three of the five end of year award winners return: Miller (player of the year), Gritt (freshman of the year), Larson (transfer of the year)

• Last season The Summit League ended with a conference RPI of 12 out of 32 conferences. South Dakota State posted the highest team RPI of 32

• South Dakota finished the 2017-18 season ranked fourth nationally in free-throw percentage at 79.8 percent, while Western Illinois ranked third in three-point field goals per game at 10.6


For the latest information on ORU women's basketball, follow @ORUWBB on Twitter or go to Fans can also receive updates on the team by downloading the Golden Eagles Front Row App at or in the App Store.


Mabee Madness October 29
October 29, 2018 Mabee Madness October 29