Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

#ORUTF Set for Summit League Indoor Championships

#ORUTF Set for Summit League Indoor Championships

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. – The 2019 Summit League Indoor Track and Field Championships Presented by the U.S. Air Force Special Operations will be hosted Friday and Saturday at the Sanford-Jackrabbit Athletic Complex in Brookings, South Dakota. This is the second time in league history that the Jackrabbits have hosted the indoor championships, the first being the 2017 event.


The championships will begin at 9:30 a.m. both days with multi-events. Running events begin at 3:30 p.m. on Friday and 1 p.m. on Saturday. Awards will follow the conclusion of each individual event Friday and Saturday.


Need to Know

Date: Friday-Saturday, Feb. 22-23

Start Times: 9:30 a.m. CT Friday & Saturday

Location: Sanford-Jackrabbit Athletic Complex

Host: South Dakota State University

Tickets: Friday $5 for Adults, $3 for Kids / Saturday $8 for Adults $5 for Kids

Live Results:

Live Stream:


Where to Look

For anything and everything regarding The Summit League Indoor Track and Field Championships, visit the official championship website at


Men's Front Runners

• North Dakota State looks to earn its fourth-consecutive Summit League Indoor Championship title

• The Bison come into the championship ranked No. 16 in the USTFCCCA national rankings

• In the Summit League preseason poll, South Dakota State was projected to take the title by a slight margin over North Dakota State

• Four men are looking to defend their 2018 indoor league crowns: Oral Robert's Emmanuel Mwewa (400m), South Dakota's Eldon Warner (800m), South Dakota State's Kyle Burdick (mile and 3,000m), and ORU's Israel Nelson (60m hurdles)

• North Dakota State's Payton Otterdahl holds the nation's best marks in both throwing events and currently ranks second in the world in the shot put

• In addition to Otterdahl, six other athletes rank in the Top-25 nationally in their respective events: NDSU's Alex Talley (No. 17—shot put, No. 22 weight throw), USD's Ethan Fenchel (No. 19—weight throw), Zack Anderson (No. 10—high jump), Jack Durst (No. 18—high jump), and Chris Nilsen (No. 5—pole vault) and ORU's Jaden Purnell (No. 22—triple jump)

• Nilsen's No. 5 pole vault mark in the NCAA is currently the 12th-best mark in the world


Last Five Men's Team Champions

2017-18: North Dakota State

2016-17: North Dakota State

2015-16: North Dakota State

2014-15: South Dakota

2013-14: South Dakota


Women's Front Runners

• North Dakota State is eyeing its 12th consecutive team title to extend its league record

• NDSU was selected as the preseason favorites for the indoor title with South Dakota picked to be the Bison's top contender

• The Bison enter the meet with league leaders in six events, while Oral Roberts and South Dakota enter with league leaders in three events each

• Four women return this season and look to repeat as champions: South Dakota State's Rachel King (mile and 3,000m), USD's Megan Billington (5,000m), Helen Falda (pole vault), and Omaha's Stephanie Ahrens (high jump)

• Nine women rank in the Top-25 nationally in their respective events heading into the championships: NDSU's Bailey Retzlaff (No. 9—shot put, No. 19—weight throw), Shelby Gunnells (No. 12—shot put), Akealy Moton (No. 19—shot put), and Maddy Nilles (No. 11—weight throw), UND's Molli Detloff (No. 13—weight throw), USD's Lara Boman (No. 15—weight throw), Helen Falda (No. 13—pole vault), and Kimberly Peterson (No. 25—pole vault), and UNO's Stephanie Ahrens (No. 5—high jump)


Last Five Women's Team Champions

2017-18: North Dakota State

2016-17: North Dakota State

2015-16: North Dakota State

2014-15: North Dakota State

2013-14: North Dakota State



Through 36 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at nine institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), University of North Dakota, North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, Purdue Fort Wayne (Purdue University-Fort Wayne), the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University with the University of North Dakota becoming an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced 12 NCAA Champions along with over 100 Academic All-Americans, nearly 125 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.


For the latest information on ORU Track and Field, follow the Golden Eagles on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, or go to  Fans can also receive updates on the team by downloading two mobile apps, ORU Golden Eagles Live and ORU Front Row, available on the App Store and Google Play.