Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Burrows Earns Bid to NCAA Regional

Burrows Earns Bid to NCAA Regional

Complete NCAA Release

TULSA, Okla. – A stellar senior season will continue for Oral Roberts men's golfer Cody Burrows, who earned an at-large berth into the Austin Regional of the NCAA Golf Tournament, it was announced Wednesday. Burrows tied for the individual championship at the 2019 Summit League Men's Golf Championship and led The Summit League in stroke average this season.

News and Notes
- Burrows will become ORU's first NCAA participant in men's golf since 2010, when ORU won the Summit League Championship and qualified as a team.

- ORU's last at-large berth came in 2007 when Mauricia Tamez qualified for the NCAA Regional in Sugar Grove, Illinois.

- Entering the NCAA Regional, Burrows is on pace to break the school record for stroke average in a season at 71.4. Tamez currently holds the record at 72.0, set in 2006-07.

- Burrows is a four-time First Team All-Summit League selection and was the 2017 Summit League Golfer of the Year.

- During his senior season, Burrows had seven top five finishes in 12 tournaments, including his tie for first at The Summit League Championship.

Full List of Teams and Individuals Selected

Listed below are the teams and individuals selected to participate in the championships.  Teams winning automatic qualification are designated by their conferences in parentheses.

University of Texas Golf Club – Austin, Texas
Hosted by the University of Texas at Austin
Teams (seeded in the following order):

  1. Texas
  2. Southern California
  3. Pepperdine [West Coast Conference]
  4. Clemson
  5. TCU
  6. Arkansas [Southeastern Conference]
  7. Iowa
  8. Marquette [Big East Conference]
  9. San Jose State
  10. Saint Mary's (California)
  11. Sam Houston State [Southland Conference]
  12. University of Missouri-Kansas City [Western Athletic Conference]
  13. Prairie View A&M [Southwestern Athletic Conference]
  14. Army West Point [Patriot League]


  1. Blake Elliott, McNeese
  2. Angus Flanagan, Minnesota
  3. Cody Burrows, Oral Roberts
  4. Jake Benson, Rice
  5. Jeffrey Peters, Saint Peter's

TPC Myrtle Beach – Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Hosted by Coastal Carolina University and Myrtle Beach Regional Sports Alliance
Teams (seeded in the following order):

  1. Wake Forest
  2. California
  3. Texas Tech
  4. Illinois [Big Ten Conference]
  5. Florida State
  6. UNLV
  7. Oregon
  8. Ohio State
  9. Northwestern
  10. Oregon State
  11. Cal State Fullerton [Big West Conference]
  12. Middle Tennessee [Conference USA]
  13. VCU [Atlantic 10 Conference]
  14. Robert Morris [Northeast Conference]


  1. Jack Lang, Davidson
  2. Zack Taylor, Coastal Carolina
  3. Bobby Bai, University of Central Florida
  4. Kyler Tate, University of Central Florida
  5. Florian Schroedl, Fairleigh Dickinson

University of Georgia Golf Course – Athens, Georgia
Hosted by the University of Georgia
Teams (seeded in the following order):

  1. Vanderbilt
  2. Duke
  3. Georgia
  4. Liberty
  5. Alabama
  6. Tennessee
  7. Campbell [Big South Conference]
  8. Kentucky
  9. Nevada
  10. SMU
  11. Memphis [American Athletic Conference]
  12. University of North Carolina Wilmington [Colonial Athletic Association]
  13. Princeton [The Ivy League]


  1. Roland Massimino, Kansas State
  2. Jacob Eklund, Kansas State
  3. Eduardo Carrete, Jacksonville
  4. Keller Harper, Furman
  5. Jeremy Gandon, Kansas State
  6. Billy Tom Sargent, Western Kentucky
  7. Logan Sowell, College of Charleston
  8. John Gough, Charlotte
  9. Jordan Warnock, University of South Carolina Upstate
  10. Will Halamandaris, Lafayette

University of Louisville Golf Club – Simpsonville, Kentucky
Hosted by the University of Louisville
Teams (seeded in the following order):

  1. Oklahoma State [Big 12 Conference]
  2. Auburn
  3. North Florida [ASUN Conference]
  4. Louisville
  5. Baylor
  6. Arkansas State [Sun Belt Conference]
  7. Iowa State
  8. West Virginia
  9. Arizona
  10. Mississippi State
  11. New Mexico [Mountain West Conference]
  12. Jacksonville State [Ohio Valley Conference]
  13. Southern Illinois [Missouri Valley Conference]


  1. Jordan Hahn, Wisconsin
  2. Jamie Stewart, Missouri
  3. Miguel Delgado, Notre Dame
  4. Trent Wallace, Illinois State
  5. Jimmy Hervol, UConn
  6. Logan Lowe, George Washington
  7. David Rauer, Illinois State
  8. Garrett Wood, Xavier
  9. Duncan McNeill, Toledo
  10. George Kneiser, Green Bay

Stanford Golf Course – Stanford, California
Hosted by Stanford University
Teams (seeded in the following order):

  1. Arizona State
  2. Stanford [Pac-12 Conference]
  3. LSU
  4. NC State
  5. North Carolina
  6. South Florida
  7. Kansas
  8. Virginia
  9. Ole Miss
  10. Georgia Southern
  11. UNC Greensboro [Southern Conference]
  12. Augusta University [Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference]
  13. Denver [The Summit League]


  1. Austin Squires, Cincinnati
  2. Riley Elmes, Loyola Marymount University
  3. James Nicholas, Yale
  4. Kyler Dunkle, Utah
  5. Teddy Zinsner, Yale
  6. Guillaume Fanonnel, Louisiana-Monroe
  7. Alex Lee, Fresno State
  8. Jack Rhea, East Tennessee State
  9. Shiso Go, East Tennessee State
  10. Jake Vincent, Southern Utah

Palouse Ridge Golf Club – Pullman, Washington
Hosted by Washington State University
Teams (seeded in the following order):

  1. Oklahoma
  2. Georgia Tech [Atlantic Coast Conference]
  3. South Carolina
  4. Texas A&M
  5. UCLA
  6. Brigham Young
  7. Colorado State
  8. Florida
  9. Michigan State
  10. Purdue
  11. Kent State [Mid-American Conference]
  12. Northern Colorado [Big Sky Conference]
  13. Wright State [Horizon League]
  14. Iona [Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference]


  1. Thomas Hutchison, UC Davis
  2. Zach Smith, UC Santa Barbara
  3. Daniel O'Loughlin, Colorado
  4. Tim Widing, San Francisco
  5. Jake Chanen, Grand Canyon

For the latest information on ORU athletics, follow @ORUAthletics on Twitter or Instagram or go to Fans can also receive updates on the Golden Eagles by downloading the ORU Athletics Front Row App at or the ORU Golden Eagles Live App in iTunes or the Google Play Store.

--- #GoldenStandard ---