Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men's Golf Picked Third in Preseason Poll

Men's Golf Picked Third in Preseason Poll

ELMHURST, Ill. - The Oral Roberts men's golf team was picked to finish third this season while Denver has been selected as the preseason favorite to capture The Summit League Championship title for the second year in a row.

Oral Roberts, back in the league following a two-year absence, is ranked third behind the stroke of Scott Newell. Newell, who was named Newcomer of the Championship in 2012, has a 73.5 stroke average with a pair of top-five finishes during the fall season. ORU won its first tournament of the fall season, besting the 15-team field at the SIU Edwardsville Invitational. The Golden Eagles were 7-3 against Summit League teams during the fall season.

Denver collected eight first-place votes and 64 points. The Pioneers look to defend their title behind the strokes of Petter Mikalsen (70.7), Chris Korte (71.8) and all-league, all-tournament and Newcomer of the Year Pat Frodigh (72.0). The trio led the league in stroke average at the conclusion of the fall season.

In second place is IUPUI, last season's runner-up, with the final first-place vote and 53 points. Rylan Porter and All-Summit First Team selection Jose Pablo Segurola lead the Jaguars. Porter has a team-best 72.8 average entering spring competition while Segurola has a 73.3 average and captured the Butler Fall Invitational title. Porter and Segurola's averages rank fifth and sixth, respectively, in the league.

First Team All-Summit League honoree Sam Matthew and Jordan Rykal lead South Dakota, which placed fourth in the poll. Matthew has a 72.6 stroke average, fourth in the league, while Rykal enters the spring competition with a 75.1 average.

North Dakota State is fifth in the preseason poll and is led by Bill Carlson and Connor Holland. Carlson captured the UNO Invitational title and has a team-best 73.5 stroke average followed by Holland's 74.7 average.

Karl Krieser, a second team all-league selection, leads Omaha following the fall season with a 74.3 stroke average. The Mavericks placed sixth in the poll and are followed by Western Illinois. The Fighting Leathernecks are led by Nate Davis (74.4).

South Dakota State and Fort Wayne rounded out the poll. The Jackrabbits are led by Grant Smith (74.8) who recorded three top-10 finishes in the fall season, while Devin Jenkins (78.1) headlines the Mastodons' squad.

The 2015 Summit League Men's Golf Championship will be held May 1-3, at the La Purisima Golf Course in Lompoc, Calif. The champion earns the league's automatic berth to the NCAA Regional Championships.



School (1st-place votes)



Denver (8)






Oral Roberts



South Dakota



North Dakota State






Western Illinois



South Dakota State



Fort Wayne


**Coaches are not allowed to vote for their own team.

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 65 All-Americans, 60 Academic All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league and to "See The Summit", visit, follow on Twitter @thesummitleague, download The Summit League's Front Row app, and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at