Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Summit League and WAC announce Basketball Challenge series

Summit League and WAC announce Basketball Challenge series

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. – Summit League and Western Athletic Conference officials announced Wednesday the matchups and dates for the first year of The Summit League/WAC Challenge in men's basketball.

The Challenge features head-to-head competition between all nine teams. Matchups were set based upon factors including the previous year's achievements, records and RPI rankings, as well as projected rankings in the upcoming season. Those teams with home games in 2018 will play on the road in 2019 and vice versa. In addition, teams will not face the same opponent in back-to-back years.

"We developed this series to assist both of our memberships with non-conference scheduling," Summit League Commissioner Tom Douple said. "Over a two-year period, this partnership will guarantee our programs a quality home and road opponent that will be exciting for our fans to follow."

The complete list of matchups and times for the 2018-19 schedule is below:
Nov. 6         Grand Canyon at South Dakota State               7 p.m. CT
Nov. 6         North Dakota State at NM State                         7:30 p.m. MT
Nov. 13      California Baptist at Oral Roberts                        7 p.m. CT
Dec. 1         Kansas City at Purdue Fort Wayne                     2 p.m. ET
Dec. 1         CSU Bakersfield at South Dakota                                        3:30 p.m. CT
Dec. 1         Denver at Utah Valley                                             7 p.m. MT
Dec. 5         North Dakota at UT Rio Grande Valley             7 p.m. CT
Dec. 6         Omaha at Seattle U                                                 7 p.m. PT
Dec. 20      Chicago State at Western Illinois                         2 p.m. CT

In addition, here are the matchups for the 2019-20 season with times and dates to be determined. Those are South Dakota at California Baptist; South Dakota State at CSU Bakersfield; Oral Roberts at Chicago State; Purdue Fort Wayne at Grand Canyon; Western Illinois at Kansas City; NM State at Denver; Seattle U at North Dakota; UT Rio Grande Valley at Omaha; and Utah Valley at North Dakota State.

Follow The Summit League
SOCIAL: Twitter | Facebook | Instagram


Through 36 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 115,000 at nine institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Purdue Fort Wayne (Purdue University Fort Wayne), the University of North Dakota, North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced 12 NCAA Champions along with over 100 Academic All-Americans, nearly 125 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague

BYU Tops ORU 85-65
November 15, 2018 BYU Tops ORU 85-65
Mabee Madness October 29
October 29, 2018 Mabee Madness October 29