Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Nzekwesi Named Freshman of the Year; Owens Earns All-League Honors

Nzekwesi Named Freshman of the Year; Owens Earns All-League Honors

TULSA, Okla. – Oral Roberts freshman Emmanuel Nzekwesi was named the 2016-17 Summit League Freshman of the Year, it was announced Thursday by the league office. Additionally, junior Albert Owens was tabbed as an honorable mention All-Summit League selection.

Nzekwesi was top 30 in the league in scoring and field goal percentage during his rookie campaign and was the top freshman in the league in double-doubles (5), scoring (9.8 ppg) and rebounding (6.4 rpg). His 17 rebounds against Rogers State were tied for the second most by anyone in the Summit League this season. He scored a career high 21 points with 13 rebounds against Michigan State and scored 20 points with 14 rebounds against Ole Miss.  He was one of two Golden Eagles to start every game this season, finishing fourth on the team in scoring and was the leading rebounder for the season.

Owens finished the regular season fifth in the league in scoring at 17.4 points per game, third in blocked shots (37) and was 13th in rebounding as well (5.6 rpg). He scored 20 or more points in 13 games including a stretch of eight straight games in Summit League play. He had a career high 28 points in a win against Omaha and then matched the effort while also matching a career high with nine rebounds on the road at North Dakota State. He had four games this season with nine rebounds and additional three games with eight rebounds. He scored 23 points with eight boards on the road at No. 10 Creighton, and moved into eighth place in ORU history with 104 career blocks having blocked at least one shot in 18 games this season.

First Team
Mike Daum, South Dakota State
Tyler Flack, South Dakota
Tra-Deon Hollins, Omaha
John Konchar, Fort Wayne
Paul Miller, North Dakota State
Matt Mooney, South Dakota 

Second Team
Daniel Amigo, Denver
Garret Covington, Western Illinois
Mo Evans, Fort Wayne
Marcus Tyus, Omaha
Dexter Werner, North Dakota State

Honorable Mention
Darell Combs, IUPUI
Matt O'Leary, IUPUI
Albert Owens, Oral Roberts
Joe Rosga, Denver
Tre'Shawn Thurman, Omaha

Trey Burch-Manning, South Dakota
Trey Dickerson, South Dakota
Mitch Hahn, Omaha
Matt Mooney, South Dakota
Bryson Scott, Fort Wayne

Player of the Year
Mike Daum, South Dakota State

Defensive Player of the Year
Tra-Deon Hollins, Omaha

Sixth Man of the Year
Dexter Werner, North Dakota State

Transfer of the Year
Matt Mooney, South Dakota

Freshman of the Year
Emmanuel Nzekwesi, Oral Roberts

Coach of the Year
Craig Smith, South Dakota

For the latest information on ORU men's basketball, follow @ORUMBB on Twitter or Instagram or go to Fans can also receive updates on the team by downloading the ORU Athletics Front Row App at or the ORU Golden Eagles Live App in iTunes or the Google Play Store.

USD Tops ORU 86-72
February 18, 2017 USD Tops ORU 86-72
ORU, Denver Face Off Tuesday
January 30, 2017 ORU, Denver Face Off Tuesday