Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Ausua Lands Pre-Season All-America Honor Heading into 2018

Ausua Lands Pre-Season All-America Honor Heading into 2018

TUSCON, Ariz. – Oral Roberts senior pitcher Miguel Ausua was named to the 2018 Collegiate Baseball Pre-Season All-American team as announced by the newspaper Monday.


Ausua, a second-team All-American at the end of the 2017 campaign by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association, finished his junior season with an 11-3 record. His 11 wins ranked third in all of NCAA Division I baseball as the Peñuelas, Puerto Rico, native was honored as The Summit League Pitcher of the Year and a First Team All-Summit League selection.


The lefty posted a conference-best, 1.65 earned run average, which was seventh in the nation, and was picked as the Summit League Championship MVP. He allowed only one earned run over his final 38 innings of work, including a stretch of 36.2 scoreless frames, through the NCAA Fayetteville Regional.


The Collegiate Baseball Pre-Season All-Americans for 2018 include:


LHP Luke Heimlich (Oregon St.)               

LHP Steven Gingery (Texas Tech.)                 

RHP Brady Singer (Florida)                       

RHP Sean Hjelle (Kentucky)                      

LHP/DH Tyler Holton (Florida St.)              

Relief Michael Byrne (Florida)                    

Relief Kenyon Yovan (Oregon)                  

C J.T. Thomas (Mercer)                             

1B Luken Baker (Texas Christian)   

2B Nick Madrigal (Oregon St.)                   

3B Johnny Aiello (Wake Forest)                 

SS Jeremy Eierman (Missouri St.)  

OF Seth Beer (Clemson)                            

OF Niko Hulsizer (Morehead St.)               

OF Griffin Conine (Duke)                           

DH Logan McRae (Coll. of Charleston)             

UT Kevin Milam (St. Mary's, CA)                  


RHP Joey Murray (Kent St.)                      

LHP Trey Cumbie (Houston)                      

RHP Jackson Kowar (Florida)                   

RHP Logan Gilbert (Stetson)                      

LHP Konnor Pilkington (Mississippi St.)             

RHP Colton Eastman (Cal. St. Fullerton)

RHP Zack Hess (Louisiana St.)                 

RHP Casey Mize (Auburn)                         

LHP Nick Sprengel (San Diego)                

RHP Jared Janczak (Texas Christian)              

LHP Gunner Leger (Louisiana-Lafayette)          

RHP Sean Mooney (St. John's)                 

RHP Patrick Raby (Vanderbilt)                  

Relief Michael Clark (Cal. Poly)                 

Relief Nick Sandlin (Southern Mississippi) 

Relief Brett Conine (Cal. St. Fullerton)               

Relief Jake Fromson (Missouri St.)            

Relief Luis Alvarado (Nebraska)                

C Mason Fishback ( New Mexico St.)                

C Cal Raleigh (Florida St.)                          

C Chris Williams (Clemson)                       

1B Kevin Woodall (Coastal Carolina)                 

1B Nic Ready (Air Force)                           

2B Braden Shewmake (Texas A&M)                 

3B Jonathan India (Florida)                        

SS Tyler Frank (Florida Atlantic)                

OF Matt Wallner (Southern Mississippi)

OF Greyson Jenista (Wichita St.)    

OF Jake McCarthy (Virginia)                     

UT John McMillon (Texas Tech.)                 


LHP Kris Bubic (Stanford)                          

RHP Alex Royalty (N.C. Wilmington)                

RHP Jon Olsen (UCLA)                             

RHP Kyle Bradish (New Mexico St.)                 

RHP Blaine Knight (Arkansas)                   

RHP Nolan Kingham (Texas)                     

LHP Miguel Ausua (Oral Roberts)              

Relief Dallas Woolfolk (Mississippi)            

Relief Ross Learnard (Purdue)                   

Relief Jake Roehn (Ohio)                           

Relief Jake Mulholland (Oregon St.)          

Relief Spencer Price (Mississippi St.)                

Relief J.T. Newton (Houston Baptist)                 

Relief Bryce Tucker (Central Florida)                

C Joey Bart (Georgia Tech.)                      

C J.J. Schwarz (Florida)                             

1B Andrew Vaughn (California)                  

1B Tristen Gagan (S.E. Missouri St.)                 

1B Julian Infante (Vanderbilt)                     

2B Wade Bailey (Georgia Tech.)               

2B Lee Solomon (Lipscomb)                      

2B Braxton Morris (Morehead St.)   

3B Taylor Schwaner (Southeastern La.)    

3B Sam Fragale (Virginia Tech.)                

3B Luke Miller (Indiana)                              

3B Alec Bohm (Wichita St.)                        

SS Will Wilson (N.C. State)                        

SS Nico Hoerner (Stanford)                       

SS Reid Leonard (Morehead St.)               

OF Tristan Pompey (Kentucky)                 

OF Zach Watson (Louisiana St.)                

OF Travis Swaggerty (South Alabama)             

OF Steele Walker (Oklahoma)                   

UT Tom Stoffel (Virginia Tech.)                          

For the latest information on ORU Baseball, follow the Golden Eagles on FacebookTwitter and Instagram, or go to Fans can also receive updates on the team by downloading two mobile apps, ORU Golden Eagles Live and ORU Front Row, available on the App Store and Google Play.