Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

ORU Places 113 on Summit League Academic Honor Roll

ORU Places 113 on Summit League Academic Honor Roll

ELMHURST, Ill. − With the 2017-18 academic year complete, The Summit League unveiled its list of Academic Honor Roll honorees Tuesday morning.

A total of 1,203 Summit League student-athletes from the sports of baseball, men's and women's basketball, men's and women's cross country, men's and women's golf, men's and women's soccer, softball, men's and women's swimming & diving, men's and women's tennis, men's and women's track & field and volleyball were recognized for their academic excellence.


  • Student-athletes must have at least a 3.2 cumulative grade-point average (on a 4.0 scale) for the year awarded (2017-18)
  • Student-athletes must have used a season of competition (year of athletic eligibility) in the sport in which he/she is nominated.


  • A total of 1,203 student-athletes across 17 sports were honored.
  • South Dakota led with 207 honorees followed by South Dakota State (194) and North Dakota State (157).

The Academic Honor Roll breakdown by school is as follows:           

South Dakota (207)
South Dakota State (194)
North Dakota State (157)
Omaha (141)
Denver (126)
Western Illinois (115)
Oral Roberts (113)
Fort Wayne (92)
Eastern Illinois (35) - men's soccer and swimming & diving associate member
Valparaiso (11) - men's swimming & diving and men's tennis associate member
Illinois State (7) - men's tennis associate member
Drake (5) - men's tennis associate member

The complete list of the 2017-18 Summit League Academic Honor Roll can be found here. 


Through 36 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 115,000 at nine institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Purdue Fort Wayne (Purdue University Fort Wayne), the University of North Dakota, North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 95 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.


ORU Announces New Brand
October 30, 2017 ORU Announces New Brand