Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

ORU Honors Student-Athletes at 2018 ELI's

ORU Honors Student-Athletes at 2018 ELI's

TULSA, Okla. – The Oral Roberts University Athletics Department held the 2018 ELI Awards Banquet Thursday night to honor its student-athletes who had excelled in competition, in the classroom and in the community.  

ORU recognized student-athletes who had earned Summit League Player of the Year, All-Academic or All-America honors. At the end of the night, five student-athletes were selected as the 2017-18 Whole Person Champions; Faith Ihim (women's basketball), Albert Owens (men's basketball), Laura Milos (volleyball), Nick Rotola (baseball) and Kennedy Ishee (women's golf).

The women's soccer team captured the Carter Cup for their work in the community and the classroom.

Associate A.D. Kyle Jones gave out his Eli Awards for Academic Excellence, which went to:
Parker Johnson (men's soccer)
Kishel Stubbs (track & field)
Keely Hohenberger (women's soccer)

Other awards given out on the night included the Varsity Club Award (Gordon Helm), Breakout Athlete of the Year (CeCe Madison, volleyball), Comeback Athlete of the Year (Israel Nelson, track & field), All In Award (Omega Reese, track & field) and the Iron Eagle Award (Branden Brus, men's soccer).

The night concluded with two awards that were decided by a live twitter vote during the event. Stephen King (track & field) won Best Dressed Student-Athlete and the track & field teams setting two school records and winning the first ever home track meet was named the Top Sports Moment of the Year.

2017-18 Team MVP Awards
Baseball (2017) – Matt Whatley
Volleyball – Laura Milos
Women's Cross Country – Jessica Romero
Men's Cross Country – Bryce Choate
Women's Soccer – Caroline Frank
Men's Soccer – Corey Cantor
Women's Indoor Track – Aniekeme Etim
Men's Indoor Track – Omeiza Akerele
Women's Basketball – Faith Ihim
Men's Basketball – Sam Kearns
Women's Tennis – Brenda Mercado
Men's Tennis – Alvaro Santamaria
Women's Golf (2017) – Kennedy Ishee
Men's Golf (2017) – Cody Burrows
Cheerleading – Kirsta Simpson
Women's Outdoor Track – Aniekeme Etim
Men's Outdoor Track – Raymond Ekevwo


For the latest information on ORU athletics, follow @ORUAthletics on Twitter or go to Fans can also receive updates on the Golden Eagles by downloading the ORU Athletics Front Row App at or the ORU Golden Eagles Live App in iTunes or the Google Play Store.

--- #ORURiseUp ---

ORU Announces New Brand
October 30, 2017 ORU Announces New Brand