Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

117 Golden Eagles Named to Summit League Academic Honor Roll

117 Golden Eagles Named to Summit League Academic Honor Roll


ELMHURST, Ill. − With the 2016-17 academic year complete, The Summit League has announced its Academic Honor Roll. A total of 1,414 Summit League student-athletes from the sports of baseball, men's and women's basketball, men's and women's cross country, men's and women's golf, men's and women's soccer, softball, men's and women's swimming & diving, men's and women's tennis, men's and women's track & field and volleyball have been honored for their academic excellence.

Student-athletes must have at least a 3.20 cumulative grade-point average during the 2016-17 academic year and must use a year of eligibility.

A total of 1,414 student-athletes across 17 sports were honored.

South Dakota State led with 193 honorees followed closely by South Dakota (188) and Omaha (187).

In order to be selected to the Academic Honor Roll, a student-athlete must have a 3.20 or better grade-point average (GPA) for the year awarded and must use a year of eligibility.

The Academic Honor Roll breakdown by school is as follows:

      South Dakota State (193)

      South Dakota (188)

      Omaha (187)

      IUPUI (159)

      North Dakota State (140)

      Western Illinois (133)

      Denver (132)

      Fort Wayne (125)

      Oral Roberts (117)

      Eastern Illinois (40) - men's soccer and swimming & diving associate member

Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. The University of North Dakota will become an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 95 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.